Black-and-white prince now a terrier

My black-and-white prince is almost 6 months old! To my Mother, it means that Brian has to get his first hair cut. The cutesy little monster has been getting solid attention from us since the day he arrived, as if he is the first grandpuppy of the household. Mother also uses this whole puppy deal to teach me parenting 101 as if I’m a teenage mom.

Aug 1 – Monday was the day for another ‘puppy-milestone’ or the first haircut. I spent a few minutes playing with Brian before I headed out to the office. Mother told me that she would bring him to the dog spa – managed by his veterinarian. 

Hours passed in the office and I was excited to come home to my pet – to actually see how the first hair cut turned out. I dropped by Pet Express to get Brian some new toys. Brian with new haircut + new toys = happier playtime. After driving through the torrential rains, I was finally home…and when I saw him, I dropped all the toys on the floor in shock – MY SHIH TZU HAS TRANSFORMED INTO A BOSTON TERRIER! (someone call 911, le?)

Mother was quick to tell me that the vet assured her that Brian’s hair will grow back in 3 months. That was a quick remark, which prevented me to freak out. What can I do when all the hair is gone, but wait until November? So I just gave Brian a nice cut of meat jerky as a reward for behaving at the dog spa. No matter how he looks in his new coat, he is still my beloved puppy. He grabbed the new toys from me one by one, and he was more than excited to play.

I’ve observed from last night until this morning that Brian has become more energetic.  May be a thin coat makes him feel lighter. That energy level made it difficult for me to take photos. I managed to capture a few, and now I’m posting the before-and-after photos of that first haircut. May be next time, I won’t let Mother take Brian to the dog spa by herself.  =)

Leave a Reply

